Wayne Reese2011 Eddie Robinson Award

The third annual winner of the Eddie Robinson Award was Wayne Reese, a man who has impacted the lives of young men for over four decades at the high school level. As of 2011, he had served as the head football coach at McDonogh 35 (nine years), Carver (13 years) and Booker T. Washington (six years), dealing with young men in largely underprivileged situations, helping them to develop as responsible citizens, football players, students and to become productive in the professional work force. Reese has also coached track and field for many years as well, including every year at McDonogh 35.

While at McDonogh 35, the first floor of the school was severely damaged from Hurricane Katrina in 2005. Both the school and the football program recovered with Reese prominently involved in the recovery as he lobbied parents and children to return to the school. As the head coach of the Roneagles for the last nine years, his teams have reached the state playoffs for the last eight consecutive seasons.

Reese has coached five players who went on to play in the NFL, including Marshall Faulk (pictured with Reese at the 2011 Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, where Reese was presented with the Robinson Award) and Tyrone Jones from Carver, Chris Clark at McDonogh 35, Nate Livings of Washington-Marion and Calvin Magee at Booker T. Washington.

Story submitted by Ken Trahan of the Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee.

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo