Back to Articles

Florida Earns Title at Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate Golf Championship

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

The University of Florida placed four golfers in the top-25 as the Gators held off a final-day charge by Oklahoma State to win the championship at the sixth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate Golf Championship at the English Turn Golf & Country Club on Tuesday. The three-day, 54-hole event featured 18 holes each day on the par-72, 6,239-yard Jack Nicklaus-designed course. The tournament is recognized as one of the top women's golf events in the country.

Full Results

The 11th-ranked Gators finished with a three-day total of 862 strokes, edging the No. 13 Cowgirls, who finished at 963. No. 7 Alabama was third at 868 while No. 12 Arizona (870) and No. 27 Texas (879) rounded out the top five. Tulane tallied an 881 to finish in a sixth-place tie with No. 4 UCLA, the tournament's defending champion.

"I'm so grateful for the opportunity we had today," said Emily Glaser, the Florida head coach. "It was a great learning experience. We slept on the lead, we waited out a rain delay, we played in really tough conditions, and so many other factors that made this team stronger and better. To come home with a win is an added bonus. The girls fought hard all day, and I'm proud of the way they represented the Gators."

LSU's Sydney Cavin and Michigan State's Sarah Burnham each finished with three-day totals of 211 (minus-five) with the individual title being awarded to Cavin due to her registering the top score on Tuesday's back nine - a playoff was not possible due to extreme weather conditions which had already delayed the event over an hour. The victory was the first career win for the Baton Rouge product; her previous best finish was 47th.

"It has been awesome," Cavin said. "This just goes to show that hard work pays off. That rain delay was pretty nerve racking. I knew I only had about three shots left, but it all might have counted for nothing. I was in the fairway of my last hole, but the rain was picking up, so I was just focusing on playing it safe and finishing."

Final Team Results:
Florida (-2), 2. Oklahoma State (-1), 3. Alabama (plus-4), 4. Arizona (plus-6), 5. Texas (plus-15), T6. Tulane (plus-17), T6. UCLA (plus-17), T8. Miami (plus-23), T8. Michigan State (plus-23), 10. Stanford (plus-24), 11. Virginia (plus-25), 12. LSU (plus-31), T13. Mississippi State (plus-33), T13. Denver (plus-33), 15. Clemson (plus-38), 16. UCF (plus-47), 17. UC Davis (plus-49).

Player Results (Top-10 only)
1. Sydney Cavin, LSU (-5), 2. Sarah Burnham, Michigan State (-5) T3. Karolina Vlckova, Florida (-4), T3. Haley Mills, Texas (-4), T3. Emma Talley, Alabama (-4), 6. Lauren Kim, Stanford (-3), T7. Janie Jackson, Alabama (-2), T7. Chih-Min Chen, Oklahoma State (-2), T7. Mariah Stackhouse, Stanford (-2), T7. Chieh Jessica Peng, Mississippi State (-2).

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 27 national champions, 88 Hall of Fame players, 47 Hall of Fame coaches and 17 Heisman Trophy winners in its 82-year history. The 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 2, 2017. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.3 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 25,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2 billion into the local economy in the last decade. For more information, visit


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo