Back to Articles

Three Local Stars Inducted Into Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame

Sunday, August 9, 2015

The induction of three local stars into the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame highlighted the Allstate Sugar Bowl's annual awards banquet on Saturday, August 8, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, sponsored by the Sugar Bowl, selects each year's Hall of Fame class, as well as annual award winners in a variety of categories and Amateur Athletes of the Month throughout the year. Overall, 25 individuals and two teams were honored at this year's banquet.

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame, Class of 2015
Deuce McAllister (Football: New Orleans Saints, 2001-10)
Linda Tuero (Tennis: St. Martin's Episcopal, Professional Tennis, 1958-73)
Wally Whitehurst (Baseball: University of New Orleans, Major League Baseball, 1983-96)

More Info and History of Awards:
Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame
Eddie Robinson Award
Annual Awards
James J. Corbett Awards
Jimmy Collins Special Awards
Greater New Orleans Amateur Athletes of the Month

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee began in 1958 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 12 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. While adding the responsibility of selecting Hall of Famers, the committee has continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month - the honors enter their 57th year in 2015. To be eligible, an athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier bowl games in the country, having hosted 23 national champions, 86 Hall of Fame players, 46 Hall of Fame coaches and 15 Heisman Trophy winners in its 81-year history. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee is involved with various community initiatives through hosting and sponsorships of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 13,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2 billion into the local economy in the last decade.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo