Back to Articles

Manning Match-Up Week Nine - October 31

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Six games this week feature Manning Award Watch Listers facing each other, but the selection for this week's Manning Match-Up is N.C. State at Florida State (11 a.m. CT on ESPN-GP).  This is a key match-up as both teams have three conference losses and need a victory to climb back into the once-again muddled ACC race. N.C. State is led by sophomore quarterback Russell Wilson, while Florida State counters with junior Christian Ponder.

The Wolfpack have an ACC-leading five victories against the Seminoles, including three triumphs at Doak Campbell Stadium. The Pack, coming off a bye week, is looking to rebound from three consecutive conference losses. The Seminoles are 3-4; 1-3 in the ACC and the Wolfpack boast the same overall record, but 0-3 in the ACC.

N.C. State's Wilson has completed 132-of-225 passes for 1,659 yards with 16 touchdowns and four interceptions. He has also rushed for three more scores.

Florida State's Ponder, who was added to the Manning Award Watch List last week, has completed 180-of-257 passes for 2,176 yards with 12 touchdowns and just one interception, and has added two rushing scores. Ponder ranks fourth nationally in total offense.

In other Manning Award news, congratulations to four Manning Award Watch Listers - Western Michigan's Tim Hiller, Texas' Colt McCoy, Kansas' Todd Reesing and Florida's Tim Tebow - who have been named 2009 National Scholar-Athletes by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF). Each Scholar-Athlete will receive an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship, and one of the 16 will be announced as the recipient of the 20th Anniversary William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth (and formerly known as the Draddy Trophy), which recognizes an individual as the absolute best scholar- athlete in the nation.


Other Week Nine Manning Match-Ups

October 27, 2009 (Thursday)
North Carolina (T.J. Yates) at No. 13 Virginia Tech (Tyrod Taylor), 6:30 p.m. CT, ESPN

October 31, 2009 (Saturday)
No. 25 Ole Miss (Jevan Snead) at Auburn (Chris Todd), 11:21 a.m. CT, ESPN-GP
No. 19 Miami (Jacory Harris) at Wake Forest (Riley Skinner), 2:30 p.m. CT, ABC
Iowa State (Austen Arnaud) at Texas A&M (Jerrod Johnson), 2:30 p.m. CT
No. 3 Texas (Colt McCoy) at No. 14 Oklahoma State (Zac Robinson), 7 p.m. CT, ABC/ESPN-GP

Manning Award Stars of the Week

From the players selected to the preseason Watch List for the Manning Award, here are some of the standout stars from week eight:

Daryll Clark, Penn State (16-of-27, 230 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT)
Nittany Lions' offense matches defense in 35-10 win over Michigan.

Colin Kaepernick, Nevada (13-of-21, 178 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
Adds 230 rushing yards and four touchdowns in 70-45 blowout of previously 6-1 Idaho.

Ryan Lindley, San Diego State (29-of-43, 459 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT)
Huge day for sophomore in 42-28 win over Colorado State.

Colt McCoy, Texas (26-of-31, 269 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
McCoy completes his first 11 passes to get Texas started in blowout victory of Missouri.

Christian Ponder, Florida State (33-of-40, 395 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Ponder brings much-needed positive news to Tallahassee after leading thrilling comeback over North Carolina.

Zac Robinson, Oklahoma State (23-of-27, 250 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
With star receiver suspended and star running back injured, Robinson keeps Cowboys rolling.


Manning Award Players to Watch

While the final additions have been made to the Manning Award Watch, all quarterbacks remain eligible to win the award. Here's a look at eighth-week numbers from quarterbacks who are not on the Watch List:

Zach Collaros, Cincinnati (15-of-17, 253 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Making his first career start (for injured Tony Pike), Collaros is nearly perfect in 31-10 win over Louisville.

Dwight Dasher, Middle Tennessee State (22-of-35, 355 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Huge numbers for Dasher in 62-24 blowout of Western Kentucky.

Kyle Parker, Clemson (25-of-37, 326 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
Clemson freshman leads Tigers to overtime upset of No. 10 Miami.




Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo