Back to Articles

Manning Match-Up Week Six - October 10

Thursday, October 8, 2009


Three games this week feature Manning Award Watch Listers facing each other, but the selection for this week's Manning Match-Up is No. 15 Oklahoma State (3-1) at Texas A&M (3-1) to be played at 11:30 a.m. (CT) on FSN. The Cowboys' offense features senior Zac Robinson at quarterback, while the Aggies counter with junior Jerrod Johnson. This is the first conference match-up of the season for both teams. It will be a tough test for the Cowboys as they are 3-10 against the Aggies since the Big 12 began play in 1996, including 1-5 at College Station.

Robinson, considered a potential Heisman contender in the preseason, has completed 56-of-89 passes for 791 yards with six touchdowns and two interceptions. He will have to step up in this game as All-America receiver Dez Bryant is ineligible to play and running back Kendall Hunter is questionable due to an ankle injury.

Johnson is averaging 326.5 yards through the air and has thrown 11 touchdowns. He has completed 105-of-169 passes for 1,306 yards and has thrown the most passes in the nation without an interception this year. He has also rushed 48 times for 199 yards and four scores.  The Aggies are second in the nation in total offense with 545.3 yards per game, but have lost 12 of their last 15 home games against ranked opponents.

Other Week Six Manning Match-Ups
Iowa State (Austen Arnaud) at Kansas (Todd Reesing), 11:30 a.m. CT, Versus
Duke (Thaddeus Lewis) at North Carolina State (Russell Wilson), 3 p.m. CT, ESPN-U

Manning Award Stars of the Week

From the players selected to the preseason Watch List for the Manning Award, here are some of the standout stars from week five:

Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame
23-of-31, 422 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT: Another nail-biter for the Irish - his career-best yardage total lifts ND to overtime victory over Washington.

Jacory Harris, Miami
19-of-28, 202 yards, 3 TDs, 2 INTs: Miami defeats No. 8 Oklahoma, finishing brutal season-opening stretch at 3-1.

Colin Kaepernick, Nevada
15-of-18, 208 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT:  Adds 173 rushing yards in 63-28 whipping of UNLV.

Case Keenum, Houston
51-of-76, 536 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT: No fault for UTEP loss on Keenum who again puts up ridiculous numbers.

Manning Award Players to Watch

The Manning Award Watch List will be revised in mid-October. Here's a look at fifth-week numbers from quarterbacks making a bid to join the Watch List:

Ryan Mallett, Arkansas
17-of-27, 271 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT: 6-7 gunslinger struts SEC stuff in blowout of previously undefeated Texas A&M.

Josh Nesbitt, Georgia Tech
11-of-14, 266 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT: Speedster adds 56 rushing yards as Tech tops Mississippi State.

Aaron Opelt, Toledo
30-of-38, 422 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT: Rockets shock Ball State with last minute 51-yard TD pass for victory.

Steven Sheffield, Texas Tech
16-of-23, 238 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT: Backup replaces injured Taylor Potts and puts up big numbers in little over a half of action.

Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech
17-of-22, 327 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT: Career-high passing yards for Taylor in 34-26 win over Duke.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

Manning Award Watch List Photo Gallery

While the preseason Watch List includes just 38 quarterbacks, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible for the honor. Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. Ten finalists will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings. That list will be released on Monday, Nov. 30. The winner will be announced on Thursday, Jan. 14.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last year's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who will bid to become the first repeat winner this season. 




Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo