Back to Articles

Coaches, Athletes and Teams To Be Recognized at New Orleans Hall of Fame Banquet

Monday, July 21, 2014

Seven prestigious annual awards will be among a full slate of honors to be presented at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, Aug. 2, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, selects annual award winners in a variety of categories, in addition to selecting each year's Hall of Fame class and Amateur Athletes of the Month. Overall, 27 individuals and three teams will be honored at the banquet. This year's Hall of Fame class will be announced tomorrow (Tuesday) and the Corbett Awards, which recognize the top male and female amateur athletes in the state, will be announced Wednesday.

2013-14 Annual Award Winners
Outstanding Boys Prep Team, New Orleans: East Jefferson High Football
Outstanding Girls Prep Team, New Orleans: Mount Carmel Basketball
Outstanding Girls Prep Coach, New Orleans: Jose Ferrand (Ben Franklin High Soccer)
Outstanding Boys Prep Coach, New Orleans: Nick Saltaformaggio (East Jefferson Football)
Outstanding Female Amateur, New Orleans: Kalani Brown (Salmen HS Basketball)
Outstanding Male Amateur, New Orleans: Leonard Fournette (St. Augustine High Football)
Outstanding College Coach, Louisiana: Tony Robichaux (UL-Lafayette Baseball)

Greater New Orleans Annual Award Winners

The East Jefferson football team, under the direction of Nick Saltaformaggio, not only won its first playoff game since 1970, but it fought all the way to the Class 4A state championship. The Mount Carmel girls basketball team was also a surprise state champion, as they captured the school's first basketball state title after starting as a nine-seed in the tournament. Jose Ferrand won state championships in both boys and girls soccer this year but it was the girls' title which earns him his honor as Ben Franklin has now won 40 straight games. Kalani Brown led Salmen to a 33-1 record and its second straight Class 4A state title, while Leonard Fournette was all-everything in football for the Purple Knights and was recognized as the consensus top recruit in the nation. At the collegiate level, UL-Lafayette's Tony Robichaux led the Ragin' Cajun baseball squad to unprecedented levels of success, including a school record 58 victories and the No. 1 ranking in the nation.

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee began in 1958 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 12 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. While adding the responsibility of selecting Hall of Famers, the committee has continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month - the honors enter their 56th year in 2014. To be eligible, an athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier bowl games in the country, having hosted 23 national champions, 86 Hall of Fame players, 46 Hall of Fame coaches and 15 Heisman Trophy winners in its 80-year history. The upcoming Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic on January 1, 2015 will also serve as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, one of the first semifinal games in the new college football postseason format. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee is involved with various community initiatives through hosting and sponsorships of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 13,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2 billion into the local economy in the last decade.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo