Back to Articles

Manning Match-Up Week Four- September 26

Thursday, September 24, 2009


Six games this week feature Manning Award Watch Listers facing each other, but the selection for this week's Manning Match-Up is Iowa playing at No. 5 Penn State (7 p.m. CT, ABC). Iowa features junior Ricky Stanzi, while Penn State counters with all-conference senior Daryll Clark. The game has also been selected for ESPN's College GameDay site.

A loss to the Hawkeyes spoiled Penn State's otherwise perfect regular season in 2008, keeping the Nittany Lions out of the BCS Championship game picture. After last year's last second loss, expect Clark and the Nittany Lions to have revenge on their minds this Saturday at Beaver Stadium. Iowa has matched Penn State's perfect record this year, but the Hawkeyes are banged up on offense with a left tackle, tight end and receiver out with injuries. Stanzi who has completed 60 percent of his passes for 644 yards and five touchdowns, will have to look for other weapons on offense.

Through three games, Clark has completed 65-of-97 passes for 760 yards and eight touchdowns with three interceptions. Iowa's 36th ranked defense will be the first top-50 defense Clark and the Lions have faced this year. Penn State's defense, meanwhile, is ranked No. 7 in the country.

Other Week Four Manning Match-UpsIllinois (Juice Williams) at No. 13 Ohio State (Terrelle Pryor), 2:30 p.m. CT, ABC

Troy (Levi Brown) at Arkansas State (Corey Leonard), 3:30 p.m. CT,

Southern Miss (Austin Davis) at No. 20 Kansas (Todd Reesing), 11 a.m. CT

UTEP (Trevor Vittatoe) at No. 2 Texas (Colt McCoy), 2:30 p.m. CT

No. 8 Boise State (Kellen Moore) at Bowling Green (Tyler Sheehan), 6 p.m. CT, ESPN-GP

Manning Award Stars of the Week:From the players selected to the preseason Watch List for the Manning Award, here are some of the standouts stars from week three:

Levi Brown, Troy
24-of-32, 413 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, in 27-14 victory over state-rival UAB

Jake Locker, Washington
21-of-35, 237 yards, 0 TDs, 0 INT, directed shocking upset of No. 3 USC

Tony Pike, Cincinnati
31-of-49, 332 yards, 2 TD, 1 INT, also rushed for TD in key road win over Oregon State

Terrell Pryor, Ohio State
17-of-28, 262 yards, 3 TDs, 2 INT, to go with career-best 11 rushing yards and a TD in shutout of Toledo

Todd Reesing, Kansas
28-of-41, 338 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, in win blowout victory over Duke

T.J. Yates, North Carolina
19-of-24, 227 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT in payback victory over East Carolina

Manning Award Players to Watch:The Manning Award Watch List will be revised in mid-October. Here's a look at second-week numbers from quarterbacks making a bid to join the Watch List:

Joe Cox, Georgia
18-of-26, 375 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, in thrilling back-and-forth victory over SEC rival Arkansas

Jacory Harris, Miami
20-of-25, 270 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, in upset of No. 14 Georgia Tech

Landry Jones, Oklahoma
25-of-37, 336 yards, 6 TDs, 2 INT, sets school TD record in white-washing of Tulsa

Ryan Mallet, Arkansas
21-of-39, 408 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, tremendous effort despite loss to Georgia

Christian Ponder, Florida State
21-of-26, 185 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, very efficient performance in road upset of top-10 BYU

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

Manning Award Watch List Photo Gallery

While the preseason Watch List includes just 38 quarterbacks, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible for the honor. Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. Ten finalists will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings. That list will be released on Monday, Nov. 30. The winner will be announced on Thursday, Jan. 14.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last year's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who will bid to become the first repeat winner this season.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo