Back to Articles

Fresno State's Derek Carr Earns Manning Award Player of the Week Honor

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Derek Carr, a senior from Fresno State, has been selected as Manning Award Player of the Week. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest. This is Carr’s fifth win this season.

Carr completed 27-of-37 passes for 527 yards with seven touchdowns and no interceptions as he carried the Bulldogs to a 69-28 win over New Mexico which clinched the Mountain West West Division title. He recorded a school-record for touchdown passes and a season-best in passing yards in just three quarters of action. Carr has a current streak of 266 consecutive passes without throwing an interception, which is a school and Mountain West record and has thrown a touchdown pass in 30-straight games, which is the longest active streak in the FBS.

This week, Carr was named one of the Manning Award’s ten finalists. He enters the Bulldogs final regular season game this Friday versus San Jose State leading the nation in touchdown passes (39), touchdowns responsible for (41) and passing yards per game (394.3). Kickoff is set for 2:30 p.m. CT on the CBS Sports Network.

Carr’s top competitor in the Facebook contest was Michigan State’s Connor Cook who completed 16-of-23 passes for 293 yards with two touchdowns and no interceptions. This was a career-high in passing yards for Cook and it came in a huge game for the Spartans as they clinched the Big Ten Legends Division with a 30-6 win over Northwestern.

Check out the final fan voting numbers on Facebook here.  

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Visit the Manning Award page here.

Ten finalists for the honor have been announced (Manning Award Finalists ) and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, then-winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks - Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season's winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo