Back to Articles

Fresno State's Derek Carr Earns Manning Award Player of the Week Honor

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Derek Carr, a senior from Fresno State, has been selected as Manning Award Player of the Week. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest. This is Carr’s fourth win this season.

Carr completed 39-of-55 passes for 487 yards with three touchdowns, no interceptions and one rushing score in a 41-23 victory over Nevada. He registered his fifth 400-yard passing game of the season, and set the Fresno State all-time record for most passing yards in a career with 10,821. The Bakersfield, Calif. native has thrown for more than 400 yards in five of eight games this season and now has 3,061 yards on the season, which ranks third nationally.

Carr currently ranks second nationally in passing yards per game with 382.6 and touchdowns with 28. He enters this Saturday’s game versus Wyoming with 183 consecutive pass attempts without an interception. Fresno State remains one of seven FBS teams with an unblemished record in 2013, while the 'Dogs themselves are off to their best start since 1989. Fresno State's 8-0 start has earned them a No. 16 ranking in the BCS standings.

Carr’s top competitor in the Facebook contest was Boise State’s Grant Hedrick. In just his second-career start, Hedrick completed 19-of-27 passes for 305 yards and accounted for each of Boise State's six touchdowns, leading the Broncos to a 42-30 road victory over Colorado State. The Independence, Ore. native threw five touchdown passes, tied for the second-most in school history, and added a rushing score.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Visit the Manning Award page here.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks - Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season's winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo