Back to Articles

Allstate Sugar Bowl to Sponsor Collegiate Bowling Invitational

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has added another sport to its sponsorship portfolio. The Bowl will serve as the title sponsor for the Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Bowling Invitational being hosted this weekend (Friday-Sunday) at AMF All-Star Lanes in Kenner (3640 Williams Blvd.).

Official Tournament Program

Day One Photo Gallery

The three-day tournament will feature 11 schools, including four nationally ranked programs. Sam Houston State, last year's tournament winner, returns to defend their title and is ranked sixth in the in the preseason National Tenpin Coaches Association (NTCA) poll, while Stephen F. Austin, Prairie View A&M and Bethune-Cookman also open the season ranked, ninth, 19th and 20th, respectively.

In addition to those four schools, the field includes Louisiana Tech, Florida A&M, Alabama State, Texas Southern, Jackson State and the Green Wave.

"For the second straight year we are able to host a great field for this event," third-year Tulane head coach Hayley Veitch said. "We are very excited to be able to bring some of the top bowling teams in the nation into our city. We know the competition is going to be tough, but this field will be a great gauge to see where our team stands early in the season."

The tournament gets underway Friday at 10 a.m. CT with 5 x4 Baker games.

In the Baker format, starting members of the competing teams will successively and, in regular order, bowl one frame on one lane. Once five frames are completed, the team members will remain on the same lane and complete the starting member order again, with frames six through 10 being completed. This pattern of play will continue until all 10 frames of a game are completed. No changes can be made in the order of players after the start of a game, except for substitutes, although once a bowler has been pulled from the game they are not allowed to return until the next game.

The teams will then square off on Saturday at 10:30 a.m. CT with five team games.

In the five-person team game, starting members of the competing teams will successively and, in regular order, bowl one frame on one lane. Once completed, the team members shall move to the alternate lane of the competition pair. This pattern of play continues until all 10 frames of a game are complete. The same substitution rules as Baker will apply.

The tournament concludes Sunday with a tournament at 8:30 a.m. CT. The tournament, consisting of Best 4-of-7 Baker matches, will determine the champion. The 11 teams will be seeded based on the performance on Friday and Saturday.

The NCAA first sanctioned a women's bowling championship in 2004. The collegiate bowling season is the winter with the championship played in April, featuring teams from Division I, Division II and Division III all competing in the same bracket. Tulane has sponsored a women's bowling team since 2011.

The mission of the Allstate Sugar Bowl is to sponsor and promote amateur sporting events which will foster revenue and spark economic growth in the city of New Orleans and the state of Louisiana. Through all of its year-round slate of events, the organization has generated over $2 billion of economic impact for the city and the state in the last decade alone.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo