Back to Articles

Fresno State's Derek Carr Earns Manning Award Player of the Week Honor

Thursday, September 26, 2013

Derek Carr, a senior from Fresno State, has been selected as Manning Award Player of the Week. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest. This is Carr’s second win this season.

Carr, a Bakersfield, Calif. native, registered his fifth career 400-yard game, setting the school and Mountain West records for 400-yard passing games in a career. He completed 39-of-60 passes for 460 yards with four touchdowns and no interceptions.  The game-winning drive came with 2:14 to go as Carr completed 8-of-11 passes for 63 yards to set up a 1-yard run by Josh Quezada in a critical 41-40 win over Boise State.

Carr currently has 145 consecutive passes without throwing an interception and has a career touchdown-to-interception ratio of 75-to-17. He leads all active FBS quarterbacks by throwing for a touchdown in 23 consecutive games and he is tied with Georgia's Aaron Murray for the second-most games (14) throwing three or more TDs. 

Fresno State Athletics has announced the launch of its website to promote Carr as a Heisman Trophy candidate. He has led the Bulldogs into the national rankings at No. 25 for the first time since 2008 and got the 'Dogs off to a 3-0 start with his tremendous play on the field.

Fresno State fans had a tough battle this week, but they were able to win it for Carr with 3,305 votes. His top competitor was Brett Smith of Wyoming with 2,552 votes. Smith completed of 35-of-41 passes for 373 yards and four touchdowns. He also rushed for 138 yards and a score as he set the school record for total offense while becoming the Cowboys’ all-time leader in touchdown passes in a 56-23 win over Air Force.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Visit the Manning Award page here.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks - Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season's winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo