Back to Articles

Patrick Mullins and Katherine Broussard Named Top Amateurs for New Orleans

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Collegiate soccer star Patrick Mullins and high school volleyball ace Katherine Broussard have been selected as the Outstanding Male and Female Amateur Athletes of the Year for New Orleans. The pair will be among 26 individuals and two teams scheduled to be honored at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, Aug. 10, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, selects annual award winners in a variety of categories, in addition to selecting each year's Hall of Fame class and Amateur Athletes of the Month. Additional honorees will be announced over the next two weeks.

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame

Past Annual Award Winners

July 26 - Amateur Athletes of the Month To be Recognized
July 29 - Top Coaches To Be Honored at Hall of Fame Banquet
July 30 - Outstanding Jockeys Will Be Recognized At Hall of Fame Ceremonies

Mullins won the 2012 Hermann Trophy, presented to the best male player in NCAA Division I soccer. A Jesuit High product, Mullins led Maryland's high-scoring attack with 17 goals and 10 assists. He tallied seven game-winners to lead Maryland to the best winning percentage in the country (20-1-3). The Terps won the ACC championship and advanced to the College Cup for the 12th time in program history. A First Team All-American, Mullins' 2012 season ranks sixth in points and goals, and eighth in assists in Maryland program single-season history. The forward was named ACC Offensive Player of the Year and tabbed Most Valuable Player at the ACC Championship.

Broussard led the Country Day High School volleyball team to the school's fourth straight Division 5 State Title with a record of 40-6. The senior registered 532 kills, 412 digs, 68 service aces, 19 blocks and a .526 kill percentage. She was named the Louisiana Gatorade Volleyball Player of the Year for 2012-13. Her career totals are 2,158 kills and 1,738 digs. A five-time Division 5 all-state selection, she was also a three-time Times-Picayune Small Schools Metro Player of the Year. Broussard will carry her 3.69 weighted GPA to Howard University in Washington D.C.

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee began in 1958 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 12 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. While adding the responsibility of selecting Hall of Famers, the committee has continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month - the honors enter their 55th year in 2013. To be eligible, an athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier bowl games in the country, having hosted 23 national champions, 86 Hall of Fame players, 46 Hall of Fame coaches and 15 Heisman Trophy winners in its 79-year history. The Bowl will host the 80th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic on January 2, 2014. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee is involved with various community initiatives through hosting and sponsorships of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 13,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2 billion into the local economy in the last decade.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo