Back to Articles

Top Coaches To Be Recognized at New Orleans Hall of Fame Banquet

Monday, July 29, 2013

Roman Banks, from Southern University, has been named the Outstanding College Coach of the Year for the State of Louisiana and Archbishop Rummel's Jay Roth has been selected as the Outstanding Prep Coach of the Year for Louisiana. Both coaches will be recognized at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, Aug. 10, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, selects annual award winners in a variety of categories, in addition to selecting each year's Hall of Fame class and Amateur Athletes of the Month. Overall, 26 individuals and two teams will be honored at the banquet. Additional honorees will be announced leading up to the event.

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame

Past Annual Award Winners

July 26 - Amateur Athletes of the Month To be Recognized

Banks, in his second season at Southern, led the Jaguars to a 23-10 record and the Southwestern Athletic Conference championship. The Jags earned a bid to the NCAA Tournament where they gave No. 1 seed Gonzaga a scare before losing 64-58 as a No. 16 seed. During the regular season, Southern posted a 15-3 mark in the SWAC and also defeated Texas A&M, 53-51, in College Station. Banks was selected the Louisiana Collegiate Coach of the Year by the La. Sports Writers Association and was also a finalist for the Ben Jobe Award, which is presented annually to the top minority coach in Division I. Southern won 11 games in the two seasons before Banks was hired and had severe academic problems.

Roth directed Rummel to a perfect 14-0 season and the school's first state football championship in its 49-year history. The Raiders used a 22-point fourth-quarter to come from behind and defeat Barbe in the state Class 5A Championship, 35-14, one week after Barbe scored seven touchdowns in a 49-48 victory against defending, eight-time state champion West Monroe. In 18 seasons at Rummel, Roth, who is an alumnus of the school, has won 10 district championships while reaching the state playoffs 17 times. He was also selected as the New Orleans Metro Coach of the Year for large schools by

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee began in 1958 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 12 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. While adding the responsibility of selecting Hall of Famers, the committee has continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month - the honors enter their 55th year in 2013. To be eligible, an athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier bowl games in the country, having hosted 23 national champions, 86 Hall of Fame players, 46 Hall of Fame coaches and 15 Heisman Trophy winners in its 79-year history. The Bowl will host the 80th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic on January 2, 2014. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee is involved with various community initiatives through hosting and sponsorships of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 13,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2 billion into the local economy in the last decade.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo