Back to Articles

Jesuit's Hobie Hotard Earns May Athlete of the Month Honor

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Hobie Hotard, a rare four-time state champion tennis player, has been selected as the May Amateur Athlete of the Month for Greater New Orleans as selected in voting by the Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Greater New Orleans Amateur Athletes of the Month

Hotard capped a sensational career for the Blue Jays by winning the boys' singles title at the LHSAA state tournament in Monroe on Friday, May 3. Despite being a No. 2 seed, the senior defeated top-seed Austin Copete of Byrd, 6-1, 6-0 in the finals to complete his four-year varsity career undefeated against in-state competition. Hotard won the singles championship as a freshman, sophomore and junior as well - it is believed that he is the first male tennis player in state history with four straight titles. His success helped lead the dominant Blue Jays to the Division I state championship for a sixth consecutive season and for the 18th time in 19 years. Hotard has signed to play college tennis at LSU.

Hotard faced tough competition in the May Athlete of the Month balloting as he topped four other local standouts in a variety of sports. Pitcher Christian Trent posted a pair of critical postseason victories for the No. 1 ranked Delgado Community College baseball team; McMain High School sprinter Aleia Hobbs won four events at the LHSAA track and field championships; Maribel Lopez Porras led the Tulane women's golf team to a best-ever ninth-finish at the NCAA Championships; and Dillard speedster Jevonte Ezzard was named an All-American in the 400-meter dash at the NAIA National Championships after finishing in fourth place.

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee has been selecting an Amateur Athlete of the Month each month since 1958. The athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region in order to be eligible. Each of the monthly award winners will be honored in the summer at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony, hosted by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo