Back to Articles

Fresno State's Derek Carr Earns Manning Award Player of the Week Honor

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Derek Carr, a junior from Fresno State, has been selected as this week's Manning Award Player of the Week. Carr earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest.

Carr, a Bakersfield, Calif., native, was named the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Week on Oct. 29th, marking the second time this season he has received the honor. He led Fresno State back from a 21-0 deficit to register a 49-32 win at New Mexico, throwing for 416 yards and four touchdowns. Carr completed 31-of-44 passes with one interception while orchestrating an offensive effort that outscored the Lobos by a 35-8 margin in the second half.

The 400-yard performance was Carr's second of 2012, tying the Mountain West record for most 400-yard passing games in a season. He had an 89-yard pass play that marked the fourth-longest in the FBS this season. Carr's four-touchdown game was his fifth this season with three or more touchdown passes and he now has thrown 26 TDs on the year.

The Bulldogs (6-3, 4-1) will look for their third-straight win as they host Hawai‘i (1-6, 0-4) in the program's 200th game in Bulldog Stadium at 6 p.m. CT on Saturday.

Behind Carr in this week's Manning Award contest were Matt Scott of the University of Arizona and Iowa State's Steele Jantz. Scott completed 27-of-52 passes for 370 yards with three touchdowns and one interception. Trailing by 15 in the second half, Scott (who also rushed for 100 yards) jumpstarted a Wildcat rally with a 10-yard touchdown run, then threw two more touchdown passes to lift Arizona to a 39-36 upset of No. 9 USC. Jantz set career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns while setting a school-record for completions to lead the Cyclones to a 35-21 victory over Baylor. He completed 36-of-52 passes for 381 yards with five touchdowns and one interception. 

Check out the final fan voting numbers on Facebook.  

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Visit the Manning Award page here. 

The honor will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting uarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). 

~ ~


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo