Back to Articles

Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Monday, October 29, 2012

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Tajh Boyd, Clemson
(27-of-38, 428 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT)
Boyd sets the Clemson record for passing yards in a game, including three 50� yard plays, to lead the Tigers to a 42-13 blowout victory over Wake Forest.

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
(24-of-41, 416 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT)
Bridgewater is 8-of-10 for 201 yards and two touchdowns in the fourth quarter alone as the Cardinals come from behind to defeat Cincinnati, 34-31, in overtime.

Derek Carr, Fresno State
(30-of-43, 416 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT)
Carr leads the Bulldogs back from a 21-0 deficit by registering his second 400-yard game of the season and throwing an 89-yard touchdown strike to put his team on top for good in a 49-32 win over New Mexico.

Ryan Griffin, Tulane
(34-of-42, 466 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT)
Griffin leads the Green Wave to a 55-45 win over UAB, setting career-bests for passing yards and touchdowns while tallying his third-straight 300-yard game since returning from injury.

Steele Jantz, Iowa State
(36-of-52, 381 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT)
Jantz sets career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns while setting a school-record for completions to lead the Cyclones to a 35-21 victory over Baylor.

Logan Kilgore, Middle Tennessee
(20-of-30, 351 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Kilgore throws touchdown passes of 72 and 51 yards and adds a 46-yard touchdown run as the Blue Raiders win 38-21 to snap a two-game losing streak against North Texas.

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
(18-of-28, 275 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT)
Lynch continues to pile up huge stats as the junior adds 133 rushing yards and two more scores as the Huskies roll over Western Michigan, 48-34, to improve to 8-1.

Matt Scott, Arizona
(27-of-52, 370 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
Trailing by 15 in the second half, Scott (who rushes for 100 yards) jumpstarts a Wildcat rally with a 10-yard TD run, then throws two more TD passes to lift Arizona to a 39-36 upset of No. 9 USC.

Last week's Manning Award Player of the Week was Troy's Deon Anthony, a New Iberia, La., native who completed 29-of-41 passes for 245 yards and three touchdowns in the Trojans' dramatic 38-37 victory over FIU. Troy rallied from down 16 points in the second half to win - the largest second half comeback by a Troy team since a 17-point rally at Central Florida in 1995. Anthony accounted for all five of Troy's touchdowns in the game as he also rushed for 115 yards and two touchdowns. His rushing total was the most by a Troy quarterback since 1997.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo