Back to Articles

UCLA's Brett Hundley Earns Manning Player of the Week Honor

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Freshman quarterback Brett Hundley from UCLA has been selected as the Manning Award Player of the Week. Hundley earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest. 

Hundley passed for 305 yards and four touchdowns in an outstanding Rose Bowl debut, also adding 53 rushing yards as the Bruins upset No. 16 Nebraska. This marked the ninth-ever, 300-yard passing game for a first-year UCLA player and the first since Kevin Prince in 2009. It was also the first 300-yard passing game for any Bruin since Richard Brehaut did it in 2010 against Arizona State.

The Chandler, Ariz. native had Bruin fans excited from day one of the season as his first ever collegiate play resulted in a score. He took his first snap at the 28-yard line and ran it 72 yards for a touchdown. Hundley and the Bruins will look to continue their winning streak this week as they welcome Houston to the Rose Bowl on Saturday with a 9:30 p.m. CT kickoff.

Coming in right behind Hundley were Kolton Browning of Louisiana-Monroe and Kansas State's Collin Klein, who finished second and third, respectively.  Browning led the Warhawks to a shocking upset of No. 8 Arkansas by converting a fourth down with a TD pass to force overtime and then on another fourth down play, he sprinted through an open hole for a 16-yard game-winning touchdown in the extra session. Klein averaged an impressive 19.1 yards per attempt and also rushed for 71 yards and three touchdowns as the Wildcats crushed Miami, 52-13.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a
top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). 



Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo