Back to Articles

Allstate Sugar Bowl Sponsors High School & College Lacrosse Action

Friday, October 14, 2011

The Allstate Sugar Bowl's lacrosse offerings will increase to two weekends for 2012. The sixth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl High School Lacrosse Classic will be played Jan. 28-29 at Lafreniere Park in Metairie, while the second annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Lacrosse Classic will be Feb. 25 at Pan Am Stadium.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse

Last year's collegiate classic saw Texas defeat Florida State, 12-11, this past January. This year's event will feature two collegiate games as LSU battles Ole Miss at 3:30 p.m., followed by Arizona State vs. defending champ Texas at 6 p.m.

The high school event features teams at the varsity, junior varsity and middle-school levels. Since the inaugural Allstate Sugar Bowl high school lacrosse event in 2007 had eight teams participating, the Classic has grown to a capacity slate of nearly 30 teams. Recognized as one of the fastest growing team sports in the United States, lacrosse has seen youth participation grow over 500 percent since 1999 to nearly 250,000. No sport has grown faster at the high school level over the last 10 years and there are now an estimated 200,000 high school players. The sport is also growing fast in Louisiana, which had seven high school teams in 2008 and has grown to 19 teams scheduled to compete in 2012. The high-speed game is also a fan favorite, drawing crowds of as many as 50,000 for NCAA Final Four games.

The dominant team in the Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic's brief history has been Klein High School from Houston, which captured the first four titles. However, in the 2011 event, St. Thomas More, from Lafayette, La., broke the Klein stranglehold with a 9-3 victory over Jesuit of New Orleans in the championship - a rematch of the 2010 Louisiana High School Lacrosse Championship match. The Blue Jays, from Jesuit, had earlier foiled Klein's quest for a fifth straight title with a 4-3 victory in the quarterfinals.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo