Back to Articles

Iowa State's Steele Jantz Earns Manning Award Player of the Week Honor

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Steele Jantz, a junior quarterback from Iowa State University, has been selected as this week's Manning Award Player of the Week. Jantz earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week after being the top vote-getter in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest.

Official Manning Award Website

See Final Facebook Voting

Jantz, an Agoura Hills, Calif., product playing in just his second game for the Cyclones, led Iowa State to an overtime upset of cross-state rival Iowa, 44-41, on Saturday. The junior directed four consecutive touchdown drives, including three in overtime to clinch the dramatic victory over the Hawkeyes. Included in those drives were four critical third-down conversions, including a third-and-15 and a third-and-20, as well as a fourth-and-one conversion which led to the game-tying TD pass to Darius Darks with 1:17 to go in regulation. He finished the game completing 25-of-37 passes for 279 and four touchdowns with no interceptions. The 6-3, 224-pounder also rushed for 42 yards as the Cyclones scored their most points against Iowa since the teams met for the first time in 1894.

"Did we see Steele Jantz write the first chapter of what could be a legendary legacy at Iowa State?" asked David Ubben of "If so, you couldn't ask for a better start, giving coach Paul Rhodes his third landmark victory in three years at Iowa State."

Jantz played last year at City College of San Francisco, a junior college which has produced multiple Division I quarterbacks, leading the Rams to the California Junior College Championship.

In addition to collecting Manning Award Player of the Week honors, Jantz was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week. The Cyclones go on the road to face Connecticut in a Friday evening game this week.

In the voting, Jantz and his fans put on a strong performance as well, topping the supporters of Arkansas State star Ryan Aplin and Washington State's Marshall Lobbestael, who finished second and third, respectively. Aplin completed 19-of-21 passes for 274 yards and three touchdowns in little over a half of play in a blowout of Memphis, while Lobbestael, who started the season as the Cougar backup, completed 24-of-32 passes for a career-high 361 yards and five TDs in a win over UNLV.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

The honor will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Last year saw Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo