Back to Articles

NCAA Announces that New Orleans Will Host 2012 Men's Final Four

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

The City of New Orleans will host the 2012 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four, the NCAA announced on Wednesday. The Allstate Sugar Bowl was a key player in the bid process and will be integral in the hosting process as well.

New Orleans has hosted four previous Final Fours and all four have been memorable. In 1982, Dean Smith captured his first National Championship as a freshman named Michael Jordan buried the game-winning shot to upend Georgetown. In 1987, it was Bobby Knight and Indiana defeating Syracuse on a baseline jumper by Keith Smart. Smith was back again in 1993, as his North Carolina team defeated the Fab Five from Michigan. And in 2003, Jim Boeheim made up for his 1987 loss as freshman Carmelo Anthony led Syracuse to a win over Kansas.

Ten cities were bidding for one of five Final Fours between 2012 and 2016. In addition to New Orleans, Detroit, Atlanta, San Antonio, St. Louis, Minneapolis, Houston, Phoenix, Indianapolis and Dallas were bidding for Final Fours.

Following the 2012 event being awarded to New Orleans, Atlanta will host 2013, Dallas will host 2014, Indianapolis will host 2015 and Houston collected the 2016 event.

Last week, the NCAA awarded the 2013 Women's Final Four to New Orleans as well, but the two bids are unrelated.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo