Back to Articles


Wednesday, December 1, 2010


With Florida State and Virginia Tech meeting this Saturday in the ACC Championship game, the Allstate Sugar Bowl is turning back the clock "all" the way to 2000 when the Seminoles and Hokies met for the BCS National Championship in the Sugar Bowl. In one of the more memorable Classics of all-time Bobby Bowden's squad held off Michael Vick and Virginia Tech to capture the national title. It was Bowden's first undefeated season and it cemented FSU's claim as the team of the 1990s. While Vick was sensational, Peter Warrick stole the show, scoring on a 59-yard punt return, a 64-yard touchdown reception, a 43-yard touchdown reception and a two-point conversion.

Also included is a special feature on the game by's Stewart Mandel, which he contributed during the Bowl's 75th Anniversary celebration for the Sugar Bowl.

Click here for the 2000 recap.

Click here for Mandel's story.

Click here for the full History section.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo