Back to Articles

Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Watch List Additions

Monday, October 25, 2010

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced 10 additions to its 2010 Watch List on Monday. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a banquet in New Orleans.

Preseason Manning Award Watch List

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

After announcing 33 quarterbacks to watch during the preseason, the Manning Award opted to increase its focus players based on the many outstanding performances during the first half of the year. While these players have been added to the Watch List, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible to win the honor.

"There have been many young quarterbacks as well as some veterans who have really stepped up this year," said Archie Manning. "We have decided to add 10 players who have really stood out, both individually and through team success. But I want to stress that every quarterback in the country remains eligible to win the Manning Award. We still have half of the season to go and we all know that the second half is where most stars truly make their mark."

Ten finalists will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings. That list will be released on Monday, Nov. 29. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 19.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its seventh winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. Last year's winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history. McCoy was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the 2010 NFL Draft.

2010 Manning Award Watch List Midseason Additions

 Stephen Garcia
 South Carolina
 124-of-172 (.721), 1681 yards, 12 TDs, 6 INT
 Mike Hartline
 Kentucky 184-of-273 (.674), 2144 yards, 17 TDs, 4 INT
 Taylor Martinez
 Nebraska 66-of-111 (.595), 1046 yards, 8 TDs, 3 INT, 870 rushing, 12 TDs
 Bryant Moniz
 Hawaii 211-of-324 (.651), 2921 yards, 22 TDs, 6 INT
 Cameron Newton
 Auburn 90-of-138 (.652), 1364 yards, 13 TD, 5 INT, 1077 rushing, 14 TDs
 Dan Persa
 Northwestern 156-of-206 (.757), 1850 yards, 10 TDs, 3 INT, 341 rushing, 6 TDs
 Taylor Potts
 Texas Tech
 213-of-324 (.657), 2161 yards, 20 TDs, 5 INT
 Denard Robinson
 Michigan 97-of-143 (.678), 1319 yards, 9 TDs, 5 INT, 1096 rushing, 9 TDs
 Darron Thomas
 Oregon 109-of-179 (.609), 1539 yards, 17 TDs, 5 INT, 269 rushing, 2 TDs
 Brandon Weeden
 Oklahoma St.
 173-of-260 (.665), 2249 yards, 21 TDs, 9 INT


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo