Back to Articles

Meet the Manning Finalists - Max Hall

Sunday, December 13, 2009


Max Hall (BYU, Senior) has led his team to a 10-2 overall record this season, closing out the season with a 26 - 23 OT victory against Utah. On the season, Hall has completed 256-of-379 passes for 3,368 yards with 30 touchdowns and 14 interceptions. He is only the second player in Mountain West Conference history to pass for over 3,000 yards in three consecutive seasons.  His pass efficiency rating of 160.93 leads the conference and is third nationally. Hall also leads the MWC in total offense averaging 287.2 yards per game. He owns a MWC record with eight 300-yard passing games this season, breaking his own record of seven last year. He set the MWC single-game record for a senior quarterback with five touchdowns vs. Air Force. Hall holds the all-time BYU and MWC records with seven touchdowns vs. UCLA last year. He was named Conference Player of the Week five times this season. BYU will face Oregon State in the Las Vegas Bowl on December 22 and 7 p.m. on ESPN.

Manning Award Finalists

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last season's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who is making his bid to become the first two-time winner of the honor this year.




Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo