Back to Articles

Allstate Sugar Bowl to Sponsor High School Regatta

Tuesday, October 27, 2009


NEW ORLEANS - The Allstate Sugar Bowl has added another regatta event to its list of sponsored activities. For the first year, the bowl will sponsor the Great Oaks High School Regatta, hosted by the Southern Yacht Club on Lake Ponchartrain from Nov. 13-15.

This year's Great Oaks Regatta, the 12th edition of the event, is expected to include 30 high school teams and approximately 120 sailors. Each school sails one boat with two sailors. Team members may be substituted between races. The school with the lowest combined score from the full slate of races is declared the winner. The competitors come from all over the country, including Hawaii. Last year's winner was St. Edward's High School from Vero Beach, Fla. Recent local winners have included Brother Martin (2006) and Country Day (2003).

Great Oaks High School Regatta Website

The original Sugar Bowl Regatta has been held on Lake Ponchartrain every year since 1935, except during World War II. The sailing competition is divided up into two separate phases, spread out over four two-day periods, usually weekends, beginning in late November and concluding on New Year's Eve.

2009 Sugar Bowl Regatta Dates:
Optimist Mid-winters: Nov. 28 & 29
PHRF & High School: Dec. 19 & 20
One Design, BoardBoats & Optimist: Dec. 26 & 27
Intercollegiate: Dec. 30 & 31

The sailing competition features more than 200 sailboats divided into separate divisions. Sailing crews from all over the United States, including intercollegiate and high school teams, come to New Orleans not only to compete, but to take in the 60 and 70 degree temperatures and winds in the low teens to mid 20s.

The 2008 Allstate Sugar Bowl wrapped up another successful event on Lake Ponchartrain just before the 75th annual football classic. The winner of the intercollegiate regatta was Wisconsin, followed closely by Tulane and Texas A&M Galveston. The high school event was captured by Brother Martin. In the One Design and Board Boats categories, Buccaneer YC won the GYA Race of Champions; Daniel Moriarty won the Lightning classification; Jalapeno took first in the J30; Cahoula won the J22; and Victoria's Secret collected the Open Flying Scot title.