Back to Articles

Fresno State's Derek Carr Earns Manning Award Player of the Week Honor

Thursday, October 10, 2013

Derek Carr, a senior from Fresno State, has been selected as Manning Award Player of the Week. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest. This is Carr's third win this season.

Carr, a Bakersfield, Calif. native, completed 37-of-48 passes for 419 yards with five touchdowns and just one interception in a 61-14 blowout over Idaho on the road.  He tallied 390 of his yards and all of his touchdowns in the first half as the Bulldogs registered their fifth 40-point game of the year.

Fresno State is now off to a 5-0 start to the season, its best start since 2001 when the Bulldogs opened the year with six-straight wins and reached as high as No. 8 in the Associated Press Top 25 Poll. Carr registered his third 400-yard passing game of the season and in the process set a new school record for most 300-yard passing games in a career with 14. He needs just two more touchdown passes to tie the school record of 84. 

Carr's top competitors in the Facebook contest were Macus Mariota of Oregon and Jameis Winston of Florida State. Mariota set a school record with seven touchdowns (five passing, two rushing) in a 57-16 victory over Colorado on the road. Winston tallied his career-high in touchdowns with five and passing yards with 393 as the Seminoles dismantled previously undefeated Maryland, 63-0.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Visit the Manning Award page here.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks - Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season's winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.