Back to Articles

John Curtis Selected as Louisiana Team of the Year

Thursday, August 1, 2013

The national champion football team from John Curtis Christian School has been selected as the Team of the Year for the state of Louisiana in voting by the Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee. The Patriots will be among 26 individuals and two teams scheduled to be honored at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, Aug. 10, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The Sports Selection Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, selects annual award winners in a variety of categories, in addition to selecting each year's Hall of Fame class and Amateur Athletes of the Month. Additional honorees will be announced leading up to the event.

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame

Past Annual Award Winners

July 26 - Amateur Athletes of the Month To be Recognized
July 29 - Top Coaches To Be Honored at Hall of Fame Banquet
July 30 - Outstanding Jockeys Will Be Recognized At Hall of Fame Ceremonies
July 31 - Mullins and Broussard Named Top Amateurs for New Orleans

Expected to be the best in a great run of championship teams, the 2012 Patriots exceeded even those expectations.  After a resounding 33-3 win over the defending champion in Florida's top classification (Plant H.S.) in the Allstate Sugar Bowl Prep Showcase, Curtis vaulted into the number-one slot in the poll. The Patriots rolled through a second consecutive perfect season, extending their current winning streak to 28 games. The experts who decide the national rankings continued to pay attention, and in the end Curtis won the consensus national championship as it was ranked No. 1 in seven of the nine polls, including, and USA Today. Curtis won a state record 25th state championship and head coach J. T. Curtis was selected as the USA Today High School Coach of the Year in his 44th year of coaching at the school that is celebrating its 50th anniversary.

This was the highest scoring team in Curtis history, leading by an average of more than 40 points by halftime and substituting liberally. The offense, including reserves, averaged a touchdown every 5.8 plays. In five playoff games, Curtis scored 38 times in 41 possessions (36 TDs and two field goals). For the entire 14-game season, the defense allowed just three touchdowns and scored three of its own while recording seven shutouts.

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee began in 1958 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 12 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. While adding the responsibility of selecting Hall of Famers, the committee has continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month - the honors enter their 55th year in 2013. To be eligible, an athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier bowl games in the country, having hosted 23 national champions, 86 Hall of Fame players, 46 Hall of Fame coaches and 15 Heisman Trophy winners in its 79-year history. The Bowl will host the 80th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic on January 2, 2014. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee is involved with various community initiatives through hosting and sponsorships of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 13,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2 billion into the local economy in the last decade.