Back to Articles

Jay Batt Selected as 56th Sugar Bowl President

Thursday, April 18, 2013

Lifelong New Orleans resident Jay Batt has been named the Sugar Bowl Committee's President for the 2013-14 year. Batt, a graduate of Tulane University, is the 56th president of the organization. He will oversee the January 2, 2014 Allstate Sugar Bowl as well as the organization's preparations for the new college football playoff format set to begin following the 2014 regular season.

The Sugar Bowl has ensured that it will remain among the nation's preeminent bowls by signing a 12-year agreement to host eight games featuring the top teams from the Southeastern Conference and the Big 12 Conference and four more games that will serve as National Semifinals in the new playoff system.  The bid process to host specified National Championship games during that 12-year period (2014-2025 seasons) will continue through the spring and summer of this year.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl also continues its prominent position in the community by hosting and sponsoring 25-plus amateur sporting events each year.  Highlights of Batt's 2013 tenure to date include the Bowl's significant role in the Local Organizing Committee for the NCAA Women's Basketball Final Four, as well as its sponsorship of the Crescent City Classic, a road race which included over 20,000 participants.

"I am honored beyond words to be elected Sugar Bowl President," said Batt. "Serving on the Sugar Bowl Committee has been one of the most enjoyable experiences of my life, and I welcome this challenge and opportunity to be of further service to the community that I love.

"The Sugar Bowl has been an integral and invaluable part of our community for generations, acting as a historic and economic force for our city and state, and in the growth, development and culture of amateur athletics everywhere. With the continued support of our dedicated volunteer members, staff and citizens, we will continue to enhance our position as one of the preeminent organizations in all of sports."

Since joining the Sugar Bowl Committee in 1998, Batt has served in several officer positions and has been involved with numerous Sugar Bowl committees, including serving as Chairman of the organization's Entertainment Committee.  He succeeds Jack Laborde, who directed the organization through the past year which included the bowl's successful hosting of both the Allstate Sugar Bowl as well as its significant role with the 2012 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four. Batt will serve with Dennis J. Waldron, President-Elect; T. Carey Wicker, Vice-President; G. Charles "Chuck" Lapeyre, Treasurer; and Stanley J. Cohn, Secretary. Furthermore, the Sugar Bowl's 54th President, Judge Lance Africk, was elected Chairman of the Executive Committee, and joining the 18-member Executive Committee for 2013-14 are Cecil "C.J." Blache, Stephen R. Treuting and Sam Zurik, III.

A fifth-generation New Orleanian, Batt graduated from Isidore Newman School and earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Tulane in 1984. Batt is the co-owner of several Jos. A. Bank Clothiers in the South and served as a member of the New Orleans City Council from 2002-06. He is a past board member of City Park and the New Orleans Museum of Art and a current board member for the Beacon of Hope and the Delgado Foundation, as well as a trustee for Crimestoppers.

The Sugar Bowl Committee was founded as the New Orleans Mid-Winter Sports Association in 1934 for the purpose of promoting amateur sporting events that would stimulate tourism and have a positive economic effect on the New Orleans metropolitan area.  Over the last decade, the Sugar Bowl has had an economic impact of over $2 billion for the city and state.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Officers, 2013-14

 Jay Batt
Dennis Waldron
T. Carey Wicker
G. Charles "Chuck" Lapeyre Stanley J. Cohn
 Judge Lance Africk
 President  President-Elect  Vice President
 Treasurer  Secretary  Chairman, Executive Committee