Back to Articles

Karr's Devante Noil Earns October Athlete of the Month Honor

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Devante "Speedy" Noil, from Edna Karr High School, has been selected as the October Amateur Athlete of the Month for Greater New Orleans in voting by the Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Greater New Orleans Amateur Athletes of the Month

In the month of October, Noil was brilliant in keeping the Karr Cougars unbeaten in four games played. For the month, he completed 42-of-62 passes (68%) for 557 yards and six touchdowns passing. Noil also rushed 35 times for 400 yards and three touchdowns. As a receiver, he caught 14 passes for 168 yards and a touchdown. His top games came in wins against Shawn and McDonogh 35. In a 45-10 win over Shaw, he passed for 231 yards and two touchdowns, while running for 164 yards (on just nine carries) and another score. In the McDonogh 35 game, a 35-8 victory, he passed for 198 yards and three touchdowns while running for 128 yards and catching one pass for eight yards. The junior is the focus of an intense recruiting battle among the top schools in the country. He has the Cougars at 11-0 and in the 4A state quarterfinals.

Noil beat out McMain junior quarterback Omari Jones and Jesuit-graduate Patrick Mullins, a junior soccer star at the University of Maryland, in this month's balloting. Jones led the Mustangs to a perfect 4-0 month as well, and in the final two games of October, he completed 65.7% of his passes for 766 yards and 12 touchdowns. Mullins, meanwhile, scored six goals and had a pair of assists during the month of October as the Terrapins posted a 6-0-1 record to climb to No. 1 in the country and clinch the ACC regular season title.

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee has been selecting an Amateur Athlete of the Month each month since 1958. The athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region in order to be eligible. Each of the monthly award winners will be honored in the summer at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony, hosted by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.