Back to Articles

Clemson's Tajh Boyd Collects Another Manning Award Honor

Thursday, October 20, 2011

For the third time this season, sophomore Tajh Boyd from No. 8 Clemson has been selected as the Manning Award Player of the Week.  Boyd earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest.

Official Manning Award Website
See Final Facebook Voting Results

Boyd completed 26-of-38 passes for 269 yards and four touchdowns to lead Clemson to a second-half comeback over Maryland.  The Tigers trailed 28-10 late in the first half and 35-17 in the third quarter, but Boyd responded to the 18-point deficit with a 13-yard TD pass to make it 35-24. Both teams then scored field goals, followed by another Clemson TD with a 2-point conversion to cut the Terrapins' lead to 38-35 going into the fourth quarter.  In the fourth quarter, Boyd sealed the game with an 80-yard drive ending with a 12-yard touchdown pass with 11:26 left on the clock.  The 18-point comeback is the second largest in Clemson history.  The Tigers remain undefeated at 7-0.     

This Saturday, Clemson will take on North Carolina at home as the Tigers hope to continue their quest for an ACC title.

The Clemson fans came on strong from the very beginning, making Boyd the clear winner from the start of the week.  Coming in behind Boyd were Collin Klein of Kansas State and Missouri's James Franklin, who finished second and third, respectively.  Klein threw for 146 yards and rushed for 110 yards as he led the Wildcats to a comeback victory over Texas Tech, while Franklin threw for 289 yards and three touchdowns as well as rushing for 84 yards, including two touchdowns, in a victory over Iowa State.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

The honor will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Last year saw Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers.