Back to Articles

Jesuit and Mt. Carmel Win Class 5A Region III Tennis Tournaments

Friday, April 29, 2011

Jesuit High School and Mount Carmel Academy were the boys and girls winners, respectively, at the 2011 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 5A Region III Tennis Tournament sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl on Wednesday and Thursday at the University of New Orleans. It is the third straight year that those two teams claimed the regional titles. The region consists of teams from the Bayou region of Louisiana and the South-shore Metro New Orleans area.

Jesuit tallied 21 points to win the boys' title, while Assumption (11 points) and Brother Martin (eight points) finished second and third, respectively. Teams receive one point for each match won. On the girls' side, Mount Carmel registered 17 points, while Dominican collected 12 points and Assumption finished with nine points.

Jesuit sophomore Hobie Hotard won his second straight boys' singles title with a 6-0, 6-0 victory over junior teammate John Lindsey. The Blue Jays advanced their top two doubles teams to the championship match, with the second-seeded sophomore tandem of Trevor Lew and James Sampognaro topping juniors Thomas Crumley and Dylan Kennedy, 6-1, 7-6, for the title.

Dominican's Haley Tucker won the girls' singles championship, defeating Mount Carmel's Connor Murphy, 6-2, 6-2 in the final. In doubles action, Mount Carmel sent its top two teams to the title match as well, with Meghan deBaroncelli and Gabriell Roe defeating Meg Skansi and Ali Morel, 6-0, 6-3. It was the third straight year that deBaroncelli and Roe earned the championship.

Thibodaux's doubles team of Justin Andras and Jake Martinez defeated South Lafourche's Ross Mayet and Michael Charpentier in the consolation bracket, 6-0, 6-0 to qualify for states.  Chapelle's Michelle Bordes and Kate Sotolongo defeated teammates Kelsey Dunahm and Ashley Schifano, 6-0, 6-0, allowing them to qualify for states from the consolation bracket as well. 

For more information about the Allstate Sugar Bowl please log on to its website