Back to Articles

Texas Star Colt McCoy Wins 2010 Manning Award

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in NCAA history, has been selected as the winner of the 2010 Manning Award, presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl to the top quarterback in the nation. The Manning Award, now in its sixth year, was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances. The award is voted on by a panel of local and national media, as well as each of the Mannings.

McCoy edged 2009 winner Tim Tebow in this year's voting after finishing second in balloting last season. He is the second Longhorn to collect the honor, joining Vince Young, who was recognized following the 2005 season.

"It was another great year to watch outstanding quarterback play in college football," Archie Manning said. "Going into the bowls, we had a tremendous list of 10 finalists and I think it says a lot about Colt McCoy's performance over the full season that he was selected even though he missed most of the BCS Championship Game due to injury. It is a true honor to welcome Colt to the distinguished list of Manning Award winners."

McCoy led Texas to a perfect 13-0 regular season record and a slot in the BCS National Championship game in Pasadena, Calif. For the season, he completed 70.6 percent of his passes (332-of-470) for 3,521 yards with 27 touchdowns while rushing for another 348 yards with three TDs. A product of Tuscola, Texas, McCoy is the all-time winningest quarterback in NCAA history with a 45-8 career record. He is the first QB in major college football history to lead a team to four 10-win seasons and is also is the first QB in Texas history to lead his team to consecutive 12-win seasons and just the second Longhorn, joining 2006 Manning Award winner Vince Young, to lead his team to consecutive 11-win seasons.

The senior threw just two passes, completing both, in the BCS Championship Game, before suffering a shoulder injury on the fifth play which forced him to sit out the remainder of the game, a 37-21 loss to Alabama.

"The Allstate Sugar Bowl has had the distinct privilege to recognize a line of great quarterbacks with this award, and we had 10 outstanding finalists again this year," said Allstate Sugar Bowl CEO Paul Hoolahan. "In the end, Colt McCoy distinguished himself above the rest after earning the Big 12 Player of the Year Award along with a host of other awards. Fittingly, we are pleased to recognize Colt McCoy as this year's Manning Award winner."

In addition to the Manning Award this season, McCoy has won the Walter Camp Football Foundation National Player of the Year Award, Maxwell Award (nation's top player), Davey O'Brien Award (nation's top QB) and Unitas Golden Arm Award (nation's top senior QB). He was a unanimous All-America selection, as well as being named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year by both The Associated Press and league's coaches.

McCoy holds 47 University of Texas records including 16 career, 13 single-season, five single-game, six freshman and seven miscellaneous marks. During his 53-game career, McCoy completed 1,157-of-1,645 passes (70.3%) for 13,253 yards and 112 TDs (45 INTs) for a passer rating of 155.0. His 13,253 yards are sixth on the NCAA all-time list, his 112 TD passes are seventh and his 70.3 career completion percentage is just shy of the NCAA record of 70.4 percent, which is held by Colt Brennan (Hawaii).

In addition, McCoy has rushed for 1,571 yards and 20 TDs on 447 carries (3.5 ypc) and has rushed and passed for a TD in the same game 14 times during his career. In combining his passing (112) and rushing (20) TDs, McCoy ranks sixth on the NCAA list and first on UT's TD responsible for list with 132.

Winner of the 2009 Bobby Bowden Award (Fellowship of Christian Athletes), a National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete and three-time first-team Academic All-Big 12 selection, McCoy graduated in December with a degree in sports management. He also is one of UT's most active community service participants and has been selected to the Allstate AFCA and Big 12 Good Works teams. McCoy has spent his last two spring breaks traveling to Peru to perform mission work, and he regularly serves as a featured speaker representing the FCA and individually.

McCoy is the sixth winner of the Manning Award, which began following the 2004 regular season. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award followed by Boston College's Matt Ryan in 2008 and Tebow last year. Leinart was selected No. 10 in the 2006 NFL Draft by the Arizona Cardinals; the same year that Young went third overall to the Tennessee Titans. In 2007, Russell was the No. 1 overall pick by the Oakland Raiders, while the Atlanta Falcons selected Ryan No. 3 overall in 2008.

McCoy beat out Tebow and eight other finalists for this year's award: Jimmy Clausen (Notre Dame), Andy Dalton (TCU), Max Hall (BYU), Case Keenum (Houston), Dan LeFevour (Central Michigan), Ryan Mallett (Arkansas), Kellen Moore (Boise State) and Tony Pike (Cincinnati).