Back to Articles

Meet the Manning Finalists - Dan LeFevour

Tuesday, December 15, 2009


Dan LeFevour (Central Michigan, Senior) is the only player in NCAA history to reach 12,000 career passing yards and 2,500 career rushing yards. This season, he has completed 285-of-401 passes for 3,043 yards with 27 touchdowns and just six interceptions. He has rushed 174 times for 701 yards and 14 touchdowns, and is CMU's all-time leader in rushing touchdowns with 46. He has 148 total career touchdowns (101 passing, 46 rushing and one receiving), which is the most in FBS history. With 15,446 career yards of total offense, LeFevour ranks third in FBS history. Among active FBS quarterbacks, he is first in total offense, and second in passing, completions and touchdown passes. The Chippewas will face Troy in the GMAC Bowl on Jan. 6 at 6 p.m. on ESPN.

Manning Award Finalists

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last season's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who is making his bid to become the first two-time winner of the honor this year.