Tommy Moore Memorial Junior Golf ChampionshipThe Kelly Gibson Foundation, in partnership with Allstate Sugar Bowl, operated the fourth annual Tommy Moore Memorial Junior Golf Championship (TMMJGC) from December 28-30, 2014 at English Turn Golf & Country Club. The event is a two-day tournament held in New Orleans with the field comprised of top-rated boys and girls ages 13-18 from throughout the Gulf South Region and across the country.

This year's event was won by 16-year Benjamin Nelson of Madison, Miss., who shot a 144. He was followed by Brooks Radren (146) of Dozier, Ala., and Colin Troxler (147) of Luliong, La., and Hayden White (147) of Benton, La. The girls' champion was Julia Johnson (147) of St. Gabriel, La., followed by Angelica Harris (159) of Harvey, La., and Madeline Gordon (162) of Kenner, La., and Karley Whittington (162) of Vicksburg, Miss.

In conjunction with the TMMJGC, four $2,500 scholarships were awarded in August of 2014. The recipients were Stephen Wall of Madisonville, Beau Briggs of Covington, Savannah Ennis of Abita Springs, and Carlo Carino of Harvey.

2014 Allstate Sugar Bowl TMMJGC Champions
Boys: Benjamin Nelson (Madison, Miss.): 144 (Even)
Girls: Julia Johnson (St. Gabriel, La.): 147 (plus-3)

2014 Allstate Sugar Bowl TMMJGC Scholarship Winners ($2,500)
Beau Briggs (Covington, La.)
Carla Carino (Harvey, La.)
Savannah Ennis (Abita Springs, La.)
Stephen Wall (Madisonville, La.)

2013 Allstate Sugar Bowl TMMJGC Champions

Boys: Jacob Bergeron (Slidell): 71 (minus-1)
Girls: Sydney Cavin (Baton Rouge): 78 (plus-6)

2013 Allstate Sugar Bowl TMMJGC Scholarship Winners ($2,500)
Beau Briggs (Covington, La.)
Charlotte McLoughlin (Metairie, La.)
Thomas Ruli, Jr. (Mandeville, La.)
Stephen Wall (Madisonville, La.)

2012 Allstate Sugar Bowl TMMJGC Champions
Boys: Jacob Bergeron (Slidell): 143
Girls: Morgan Nadaline (Anderson, Ind.): 161

2012 Allstate Sugar Bowl TMMJGC Scholarship Winners ($2,500)
Norman Blanco (New Orleans, La.)
Jason Fogarty (Destrehan, La.)
Taylor Ann Price (Metairie, La.)
Peter Yager (Mandeville, La.)

2011 Allstate Sugar Bowl TMMJGC Champions

Boys: Philip Barbaree (Shreveport): 138
Girls: Gabi Oubre' (Mobile): 150

Tommy Moore was one of the best junior golfers to ever emerge from the New Orleans area. He was ranked the No. 1 junior golfer in the United States by Golf Digest magazine in 1980. A very accomplished junior and collegiate golfer, he went on to earn his PGA Tour Card, and won the Nike Tour Boise open in 1993.

Moore and Kelly Gibson, also a PGA Tour Professional and New Orleans native, grew up together playing golf on the Westbank and eventually travelled the world together while competing on the PGA Tour. Not only were they fellow athletes, but also best friends. Sadly, Moore died of a rare blood disease in 1998 at the age of 36. Hosting the Tommy Moore Memorial Junior Golf Championship at Lakewood Golf Club where Tommy and Kelly played in so many tournaments as juniors is especially meaningful to both the Moore Family and the New Orleans golf community as a whole.

Brad Weaver, PGA Director of Golf at Lakewood Golf Club stated, "Lakewood's award winning and nationally recognized junior golf program is committed to growing golf in New Orleans. To be the site of the Tommy Moore Junior Golf Championship presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl is an honor. This is a great day for junior golf and we are proud to be a part of building New Orleans into a nationwide leader."

In addition to honoring Tommy Moore's legacy of achievement and integrity, the TMMJGC will also increase exposure for the Allstate Sugar Bowl as Presenting Partner of the tournament. Proceeds from this championship will go into a scholarship fund for members of The Kelly Gibson Junior Golf Tour. Each year, the Kelly Gibson Junior Golf Tour awards thousands of dollars in college scholarships to its eligible participants. Scholarships are awarded based on community service, grade point average, and financial need, not golfing ability.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate Golf ChampionshipThe Allstate Sugar Bowl has sponsored multiple golf events through the years. For the fourth straight year, Tulane University and the Allstate Sugar Bowl teamed up to bring many of the nation's top women's collegiate golfers to the Crescent City for the Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate Golf Championship (Feb. 23-25, 2014) at the English Turn Golf & Country Club. The three-day, 54-hole event typically features 18 holes each day on the par-72, 6,105-yard course (the 2014 event had 36 holes played on Monday due to weather issues on Sunday).

UCLA, the second-ranked team in the nation, set a tournament record with an overall score of 843 to win the title at the 2014 Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate Golf Championship. In the individual race, Auburn's Marta Sanz set the tournament 54-hole total individual record with an 8-under 208 to capture 2014 individual medalist honors after starting the day in third place. Denver's Tonje Daffinrud finished second with a 7-under 209.

UCLA, which finished second last year to USC, edged their California counterpart this year by six strokes. The top-ranked Trojans, who also won the title in 2011, had a streak of eight straight tournament victories snapped. Florida took third place while Denver was fourth. Clemson and Alabama tied for fifth place. Tulane, the host of the event, finished in 10th place.

2014: UCLA Captures Title at Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Golf Championship
2013: USC Wins Allstate Sugar Bowl College Golf Title for Second Time
2012: Duke Claims Title at Second Annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate Championship
2011: Second-Ranked USC Upends No. 1 Alabama to Win Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Classic

2010 Allstate Sugar Bowl Mardi Gras Invitational
In the spring of 2010, the Bowl was the title sponsor of the Allstate Sugar Bowl Mardi Gras Invitational Men's Golf Tournament at the TPC Louisiana in Avondale. The event was hosted by the University of New Orleans and featured 15 Division I teams in action.

In the 2010 event, the University of San Diego shot a 5-over par 293 to capture the team title. San Diego took a three-shot win over runner-up NC State, which held the overnight lead but finished with a 10-over par 298. Tournament-host New Orleans finished third, five shots behind the Wolfpack after a 12-over par 300.

Full UNO Story with Results

San Diego sophomore Alex Ching took home individual medalist honors after a final-round 69. Ching finished at 9-under par - six shots ahead of NC State's Brad Revell, who finished second.

In addition to San Diego, N.C. State and the host Privateers, the field included Arkansas-Little Rock, Austin Peay, Campbell, Centenary, Liberty, Louisiana Tech, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe, Nicholls State, Southeastern Louisiana, Troy and Wichita State.

Full Golf News Archives


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo