Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Lacrosse Series The Allstate Sugar Bowl continued its extensive involvement with the sport of lacrosse by sponsoring a pair of exciting weekends showcasing the sport in 2014. The fourth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Lacrosse series was held March 7-9 at Pan American Stadium in City Park. The seventh Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic, featuring high school teams, took place Jan. 25-26 at Lafreniere Park in Metairie.

Event Photo Gallery

Tournament Preview by Daniel Pyser, President of the University of Miami Men's Lacrosse Program

The weekend of collegiate action included eight collegiate club teams: Alabama, Houston, Louisiana-Lafayette, LSU, Miami, South Carolina, Tennessee and Texas State.

Collegiate Results:

Friday, March 7
6 pm: South Carolina 12, Alabama 4 (MVP: Billy Binder)
8:30 pm: Tennessee 8, LSU 5 (MVP: Paul Dingee)

Saturday, March 8
11 am: South Carolina 20, Houston 5 (MVP: Will Scott)
1:30 pm: Texas State 14, Tennessee 6 (MVP: Adrian Hanner)
4 pm: LSU 8, Alabama 6 (MVP: Hunter Stinson)
6:30 pm: Miami 8, UL-Lafayette 7 (MVP: Jacob Werner)

Sunday, March 9
9:30 am: Miami 10, Houston 7 (MVP: James Sexton)
12 pm: Texas State 14, South Carolina 5 (MVP: Will Laurel)

2014: Texas State and Miami Undefeated in Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Series
2013: Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Series Caps Successful Weekend
2012: Texas and Ole Miss Win at Collegiate Classic
2011: Texas Tops Florida State in Inaugural Collegiate Classic

Allstate Sugar Bowl High School Lacrosse ClassicJesuit High School of New Orleans captured the varsity championship at the 2014 Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic. The Blue Jays, who defeated Spain Park High of Birmingham, 10-7, in the championship match, are the first local team to earn the title in the seventh year of the event. The Offensive Most Valuable Player of the event was Jesuit's Thomas Nimmo, who tallied one goal and five assists in the title match, while the Defensive MVP was Paul Stapp, also from Jesuit.

The tournament, hosted by the Friends of New Orleans Lacrosse (FoNOLax), featured an all-time high of 56 teams (from five states) playing in a variety of divisions. Other category winners were:

Girls - Team Lax Chix from Pensacola, Fla. (first-time girls' division)
U 11 - TNT (Team North Texas from Dallas, Texas)
U 13 - TNT
U 15 - Carrollton
Freshmen - TNT
JV Pool 1 - Brother Martin
JV Pool 2 - TNT

Jesuit advanced to the title game by defeating Cedar Ridge from outside Austin, Texas, while Spain Park reached the finals win a victory over Ocean Springs (Miss.).

Lacrosse is recognized as one of the fastest growing team sports in the United States; the sport has seen youth participation grow over 500 percent since 1999 to nearly 250,000. The Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Series shows that growth as well. The inaugural Allstate Sugar Bowl high school lacrosse event in 2007 had eight teams participating. Since that time, the event has grown to a capacity slate of over 40 high school teams, while adding a second weekend which highlights collegiate club programs. The collegiate event began with two teams in 2001 and now features a full weekend slate of games.

Full Lacrosse News Archives