Allstate Sugar Bowl Basketball

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has a rich history with the sport of basketball, as well as football. Dating back as far as 1936, the Sugar Bowl has sponsored basketball events in conjunction with the annual football classic. In addition, the Bowl has been a sponsor for multiple local events in the sport. In 2008, the Sugar Bowl Committee partnered with other local organizations to put together a successful bid to host the 2012 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four, officially hosted by Tulane University. The Bowl also worked with Tulane and the Greater New Orleans Sports Foundation to host the 2013 NCAA Women's Basketball Final Four.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Basketball History

National Prep ClassicThe Allstate Sugar Bowl will sponsor the fifth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic at the Alario Center from Jan. 7-10, 2015.

In last year's event, Riverside Academy of Reserve, La., successfully defended its tournament title as it defeated University High from Baton Rouge, 57-54 on Jan. 4, 2014. On the women's side, Salmen High, from Slidell, La., avenged its only loss from earlier in the season by pulling away from John Curtis of River Ridge, La., 49-32. Both teams went on to win Louisiana High School State Championships.

The men's championship game was a rematch from last year's Louisiana Class 2A semifinals, which the Rebels also won. In Saturday's game, Jordan Andrews tallied 17 points and a collection of key rebounds to earn tournament MVP honors. Malik Crowfield and Herb McGee each added nine points. Wayde Sims led U-High with a game-high 19 points while D.J. White added 18 points.

In the girls' title game, junior center Kalani Brown (22 points) and Southern Miss signee Megan Brown (no relation) combined for 37 points in the Salmen High victory. The 6-5 Kalani Brown, who is the 13th-ranked player in the Class of 2015 by ESPN, earned MVP honors after her performance. Curtis was led by a 22-point performance from Kolby Morgan.

National Prep Classic Record Book  (through 2013 tourney)
National Prep Classic All-Time Results

2014: Riverside Defends Title At Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic
2013: Riverside Academy Becomes First Louisiana School to Win National Prep Classic
2012: Oklahoma City's Douglass Wins Second National Prep Classic
2011: Kimball Knights Claim Title at Inaugural National Prep Classic

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO High School TournamentThe Allstate Sugar Bowl took on sponsorship of the New Orleans CYO High School Tournament in 2008. The event celebrated its 61st year of action in 2014 (Dec. 3-6, 2014).

The 2014 event featured a total of 16 boys' high school teams competing in 30 basketball games at five different locations (Brother Martin, Jesuit, Rummel, Hannan, Holy Cross) with East St. John winning its first title in the event, defeating Brother Martin, 52-44 in the championship.

2014: East St. John Earns First-Ever Sugar Bowl CYO Title
2013: East Jefferson Captures Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Title
2012: Overtime Shot Lifts Newman to Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Title
2011: Purple Knights Win Second Straight Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Title
2010: St. Augustine Edges Brother Martin for Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Championship
2009: Jesuit Tops St. Aug for Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Title
2008: O. Perry Walker Wins Championship of Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament

Allstate Sugar Bowl Primetime Super 60 AAU Basketball TournamentFor the third year, the Allstate Sugar Bowl sponsored the Primetime Super 60 AAU Tournament at multiple locations in New Orleans on Memorial Day weekend (May 23-26, 2014). The primary headquarters of the event was the Alario Center in Westwego. The 2014 event featured over 400 boys teams, including many of the top-rated AAU teams in the country, from second-grade to ninth-grade playing multiple games at 24 locations around the city. The tournament featured young athletes from 22 different states and drew 10,000-12,000 visitors to the city - the event jumped from approximately 270 teams in 2012 to 360 for 2013 and then over 400 this past year. For more tournament information, please visit the SAAU Boys’ Hoops website.

2014: Four Hundred AAU Teams Converge on New Orleans
2013: Sugar Bowl Welcomes Elite Young Athletes to New Orleans for AAU Hoops
2013: Facebook Photo Gallery
2012: Primetime Super 60 Tournament Brings Over 2,000 Youth Players to City

NCAA BasketballThe Allstate Sugar Bowl was a key part of the process for the successful bid by the city of New Orleans to host the 2020 NCAA Women's Final Four. This will be the fourth NCAA Women's Final Four hosted by New Orleans. The Sugar Bowl will also play a significant role in the hosting process as a member of the Local Organizing Committee.

The 2012 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four was the fifth played in New Orleans. Freshman Anthony Davis led Kentucky to the national title just months before being selected by the New Orleans Hornets with the No. 1 pick in the 2012 NBA Draft. The city's previous four Final Fours have also been memorable. In 1982, Dean Smith captured his first National Championship as a freshman named Michael Jordan buried the game-winning shot to upend Georgetown. In 1987, it was Bobby Knight and Indiana defeating Syracuse on a baseline jumper by Keith Smart. Smith was back again in 1993, as his North Carolina team defeated the Fab Five from Michigan. And in 2003, Jim Boeheim made up for his 1987 loss as freshman Carmelo Anthony led Syracuse to a win over Kansas.

The 2013 NCAA Women's Final Four was the third hosted by New Orleans, the most of any city. The University of Connecticut took the title with a 93-60 victory over Louisville. The win gave UConn and head coach Geno Auriemma eight national championships, matching the record held by Tennessee. UConn was led by freshman Breanna Stewart, who was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four. Stewart scored 23 points with nine rebounds and three assists to follow-up a magnificent 29-point effort in the victory over Notre Dame. She is the first freshman since 1987 to win Most Outstanding Player honors at the Women's Final Four.

In addition to earning the right to host the Men's Final Four, the Bowl was also part of the host committee for 2010 NCAA Men's Basketball First and Second Round action and the 2011 NCAA Men's Southeast Regional Championship at the New Orleans Arena.

2013: UConn Collects Eighth Title at 2013 NCAA Women's Final Four
2012: Kentucky Wins NCAA Basketball Crown in New Orleans
2011: Butler Captures Title at NCAA Men's Basketball Southeast Regional
New Orleans Men's Final Four Logo for 2012 Unveiled
NCAA Announces that New Orleans Will Host 2012 Final Four

Allstate Sugar Bowl Crosstown Classic and Bleu Devil ClassicThe Allstate Sugar Bowl has been the title sponsor of the Crosstown Classic and the Blue Devil Classic, collegiate basketball doubleheaders between the men's and women's teams from Xavier University and Dillard University, for five years.

2013: Xavier Takes Two in Annual Bleu Devil Classic
2012: Xavier Comes Out On Top Again in Bleu Devil Classic
2011: Gold Nuggets and Gold Rush Victorious in City Series
2010: Xavier Sweeps Allstate Sugar Bowl Crosstown Classic
2009: Xavier Tops Dillard in Allstate Sugar Bowl Crosstown Classic

Full Basketball News Archive