Prior to the 2004 college football season, the Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only college football quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting; therefore, it is presented annually following the completion of the bowl season. The winner is selected by a panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl announced the official preseason Watch List for the 2014-15 Manning Award on Thursday, Aug. 14. Midseason additions to the list will be announced on Oct. 15 and the finalists will be released on Nov. 26. The winner is scheduled to be named on Jan. 14, following the inaugural College Football Playoff Championship Game.

During the 2014 college football season, the Allstate Sugar Bowl will select multiple Manning Award Stars of the Week each week. Following those selections, fans will have the opportunity to vote for the overall Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. Over the course of 13 weeks last season, 66 players from 60 different schools were recognized and fans voted 47,802 times.

Manning Award Stars of the Week

Jameis Winston, fresh off leading his Florida State team to the BCS National Championship, was selected as the 2013-14 winner of the Manning Award, presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl to the top quarterback in the nation.

"On behalf of the Manning family and my sons Peyton and Eli, we want to thank the Allstate Sugar Bowl for creating this award," said Archie Manning. "We like to think this award is a little unique because we wait until after the bowl games to recognize the best quarterback in the country for the entire year. We are truly honored to present this award to Jameis Winston after an outstanding year as a quarterback at Florida State. He had an undefeated team that climaxed with a great win in Pasadena on Monday night."

"It means a lot to have my name next to ‘Manning,'" Winston said. "With the accolades that Peyton and Eli and Mr. Manning have had in college and in professional football, it makes me so happy to get announced as the winner of this award."

The 2013 Heisman Trophy winner following the regular season, Winston added to his accomplishments by being named the Offensive Most Valuable Player of the BCS National Championship. With the Seminoles trailing 31-27 with 1:11 to go in the game, Winston took charge from his own 20-yard line, completing 5-of-6 passes to get his team to the two-yard line before finding Kelvin Benjamin for a two-yard touchdown connection to clinch the title with 13 seconds remaining.

Winston is the second freshman to earn the honor, joining 2012-13 honoree, Johnny Manziel from Texas A&M. He is also the second Atlantic Coast Conference player to be selected (joining Boston College's Matt Ryan from 2007-08) and the fifth national champion to win the honor (joining Matt Leinart, 2004-05; Vince Young, 2005-06; Tim Tebow, 2008-09; and Cam Newton, 2010-11).

A product of Bessamer, Ala., Winston set the ACC and FBS freshman record for touchdown passes (40) and the freshman mark for passing yards (4,057), while leading the nation in total quarterback rating (85.8) and pass efficiency rating (184.8). In addition to becoming the first freshman to capture the ACC Player of the Year award in the 61-year history of the Atlantic Coast Conference, he was a consensus All-American, the Walter Camp National Player of the Year and the Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Year.

During the 2013 college football season, the Allstate Sugar Bowl selected multiple Manning Award Stars of the Week each week. Following those selections, fans had the opportunity to vote for the overall Manning Award Player of the Week. Over the course of 13 weeks last season, 62 players from 59 different schools were recognized and fans voted 37,116 times.

Manning Award Stars of the Week, 2013


The list of Manning Award winners reads like a Who's Who for the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner in 2005 after a stellar undefeated regular season and an outstanding performance in the BCS National Championship Game. He passed for 332 yards and five touchdowns in the Trojans' 55-19 win over Oklahoma. Leinart was selected 10th in the 2006 NFL draft and is currently with the Arizona Cardinals.

In 2006, Texas' Vince Young claimed the Award as he led his undefeated Longhorns to a national championship over defending BCS champion USC. Young completed 30-of-40 passes for 267 yards and rushed for 200 yards and three touchdowns in the 41-38 victory. His 8-yard touchdown with 19 seconds remaining lifted Texas to the win. Young was the NFL's third overall pick in 2006 and is currently with the Tennessee Titans.

LSU's JaMarcus Russell captured the third annual Manning Award after his performance in the 2007 Sugar Bowl. He completed 21-of-34 passes for 332 yards with two touchdowns and rushed for another 16 yards and a score in the Tiger's 41-14 victory over Notre Dame. Russell was selected first overall in the NFL draft by the Oakland Raiders.

In 2008, Boston College's Matt Ryan was honored as he led his team to three road wins over ranked teams, and capped off his season with a three-touchdown performance in leading the Eagles to a 24-21 win over Michigan State in the Champs Sports Bowl. Ryan went on to be selected third overall in the 2008 NFL draft by the Atlanta Falcons.

Presented with the honor in 2009, Tim Tebow collected the prestigious honor after leading the Florida Gators to the BCS National Championship with a hard-fought victory over Oklahoma in Miami. He threw for 231 yards and a pair of touchdowns while also rushing for 109 yards in the win. The Heisman Trophy winner in 2007, Tebow threw for 2,746 yards with 30 touchdowns while running for 673 yards and another 12 touchdowns as a junior.

The 2010 winner, Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, continued the tradition of excellence to be honored by this award. McCoy led Texas to a perfect 13-0 regular season record, completing 70.6 percent of his passes for 3,521 yards with 27 touchdowns.

In 2011, Cameron Newton earned the Manning Award honor after leading the Tigers to their first national championship since 1957. For the season, the College Park, Ga., product rushed for 1,473 yards and 20 touchdowns while passing for 2,854 yards and 30 scores. He also caught one touchdown pass to account for a school season record 51 touchdowns. The junior also set Auburn single-season records for rushing touchdowns, passing touchdowns, total offense and rushing yards by a quarterback.

Robert Griffin, III, the sensational breakthrough talent of the 2011 college football season, was selected as the winner of the 2011-12 Manning Award. The junior signal-caller set or tied 54 school records in three full seasons at Baylor, finishing the 2011 season with school records of 4,293 yards, 37 passing touchdowns and a passer efficiency rating of 189.5 (second-best in NCAA FBS history).

This past year's Manning Award winner was the sensational freshman star from Texas A&M, Johnny Manziel. Manziel's spectacular debut season featured a long list of unprecedented accomplishments. In addition to becoming the first freshman to win the Manning Award, he was the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy and the Davey O'Brien Award. He was the first freshman in FBS history, and just the fifth player ever, to have 3,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards in a season.

Manning Award News Archive